Saturday, April 14, 2012

Best of Australia 2012

The National Quilt Award 2012 has been awarded to Merelyn Pearce for her quilt Preston Dreaming, which also won Best of Show at the Sydney Quilt Show, 2011.

It is one of a series pf awards presented at the Australasian Quilt Convention Gala Dinner in Melbourne this evening.  From the AQC website:

The National Quilt Award is presented to the maker of the quilt that is judged the best from the Best of Show quilts from the annual state guild shows around the country.
The Rajah Award acknowledges the outstanding contribution by an individual to quilting in Australia.
The Shining Light Award goes to a quilter under 18 years of age and is an encouragement award for junior quilters.
The Lut-Da Award goes to a quilter who has made an outstanding contribution to their local or quilting community via the medium of quilting.

The 2012 Rajah Award was presented to Judy Hooworth.

The 2012 Shining Light award  was presented to Ineka Voight.

The 2012 Lut-Da Award was presented to Isobel Lanchashire.

No comments:

Post a Comment